Teaching

When I teach Pilates, I try to verbally instruct my students such that consciousness infuses every movement. Our founding padre Joe (Joseph Pilates) called his technique Contrology, the study of control. My primary modes of teaching (demonstration, verbal instruction, and the rare hands-on correction) seem to be adequate to the task. When I teach anatomy and physiology at the community college level, I know that I need to provide a bit more in the way of “educational inputs” and subsequently evaluate how well my students are retaining the material. Whether in the studio or in the classroom, however, learning is impossible without one vital ingredient from my students: the ability to pay attention. Hard to do? You betcha. This PDF file is designed to help you eliminate the nonessential until only the essential remains. 

Leave a Reply

